Volkswagen GTI Forums - My Fast GTi banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I own a 2009 GTI with the Thunderbunny package and I wanted to get a little more power out of it. I'm wondering what I can do to increase power and I'm hearing a lot about reflashing the ECU. I'm pretty new to the GTI world and It's the first nice car I've ever owned.

Can anyone kindly tell me what reflashing does, or what my best options would be if I wanted to get more power out of my GTI?

·
Registered
342 Posts
Hello everyone! I own a 2009 GTI with the Thunderbunny package and I wanted to get a little more power out of it. I'm wondering what I can do to increase power and I'm hearing a lot about reflashing the ECU. I'm pretty new to the GTI world and It's the first nice car I've ever owned.

Can anyone kindly tell me what reflashing does, or what my best options would be if I wanted to get more power out of my GTI?
Welcome! And yes reflashes are popular wit te vw community. Reflashes change a lot. They change things like timing and boost to make more power. If you visit a tuning companies website it will tell u everything that was changes in the tune. I would reccomend doing a intake first then get a stage 1 tune. The stage 1 tune is like night and day. It's so much quicker than stock. There are plenty of contained to choose from all of which has similar stage 1 tune. There's unitronic, apr, giacc, revo, and dm just to name a few.

·
Registered
577 Posts
Do an intake if you want, but you've got a 2009. I believe those have the TSI engine, so the stock air box isn't too restrictive, it just takes up a ton of room and looks ugly. That being said, an ecu flash to stage 1 will give you a lot more power. It's a ton of fun, and I highly recommend it. Just be sure to keep on top of the maintenance! If there is anything outstanding, do that first.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5