My Fast GTi banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HEY IM A NOOB AT THIS CAR SO I NEED HELP..
(1) I JUST RECENTLY BOUGHT A BRAND NEW 07 CW GTI PACKAGE ONE.
AND WHEN I TOOK IT OUT OF THE DEALER LOT IT ALREADY HAD 159 MILES ON IT. AND WHEN I ASK THEM THEY SAID THAT THE CAR WAS SWAPED FROM ANOTHER DEALER. IS THAT SOMETHING I HAVE TO BE WORRIED ABOUT ?
ON THE WAY TO THE NEW DEALER THEY WOULDN'T LIKE REV UP THE ENGINE OR SPEED TO THE REDLINE RIGHT ?

(2)ONE MORE QUESTION A FRIEND OF MINE TOLD ME THAT WHEN U FIRST GET A NEW CAR YOU SHOULD NOT SPEED AND KEEP THE SPEED UNDER 60 MPH UNTIL I REACH ABOUT 2000 MILES FOR THE CAR TO BE BROKEN IN. WHAT SHOULD I DO?

PLEASE GIVE ME SOME ADVICE~ PLEASE~~~~~!!!!!!!

·
Registered
139 Posts
Technically it's only used if it was registered before he/she bought it.

I've worked in dealerships for the last ten years and trust me, your car was most likely given a nice beat run on the way to the dealer. It was probably driven there by some 18 year old lot kid and I'm sure he had a fun ride. With 159 miles on it it deffinately wasn't towed there.

It doesn't really matter though because when the dealer firsts take delivery of the car the technician has to inspect and road test the vehicle. And usually that road test does not involve babying it.

A technician and myself took turns on a Dodge Charger SRT-8 that was a lot of fun. Full throttle all the way.

Every car out there before you buy it has been beat on it's part of the initial inspection. They have to check everything.

So you don't really have to worry. The car was already broken in when you got it but try to take it easy on the car for the 1st 1000 miles.

Best thing to do though is to change the oil at 1,000 miles. Then you can drive as hard as you want.

·
Registered
842 Posts
mofo529 said:
Technically it's only used if it was registered before he/she bought it.