Volkswagen GTI Forums - My Fast GTi banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,420 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all, I'd like to apologize to Gunny for starting an entirely new thread for the Neuspeed intake, or intakes in general, as I know he does get a little... um... frustrated when people do that.

I picked up my Neuspeed Intake today at a shop close by in Houston and they charged me 250.. call me stupid, but I don't really care that I could get it cheaper online. To me those 50 bucks was worth 1. the trip and 2. getting it right then and there. This was about 1:30ish in the afternoon. I got it and they wanted to charge me 120 bucks worth of labor to install it (1.5 hours)... when I hear that price I said no. I'm not going to pay 120 bucks for something I think I'm capable of (even though I have no experience working on cars AT ALL, but I'm a fast learner and a dedicated person). So I just payed for it, put it in the hatch and went on my way home. I got home about 2:30ish and started working right away. A friend of mine was there to "help", but when I get involved in something I don't like people getting in my way unless they know what to do, so I mostly did it alone.

It took me a grand total of 1 hour and 30ish minutes ( the same amount of time the guys at the shop said they'd do it in and they have TONS of experience in installing intakes).

I turned on the car and I MELTED the sound is amazing!

I have to remind you I HAD NO TOOLS... all I had was the T-20 star screwdriver and 1 pair of pliers... everything else i had to improvise. oh, and a flat head screw driver.

I was missing a 10mm wrench to take off a part to install the heat shield. So I'll do that later. I'm heat-shield-less right now.

I will be posting pics in about an hour or so... I didn't have my camera... i might even post a video. :)

·
Registered
573 Posts
Re: My NEW Neuspeed intake (kryptonkid07) *PICS COMING SOON*