Volkswagen GTI Forums - My Fast GTi banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a girl. I'm a law student. I drool over the GTI on a daily basis. I need to drive about 80 miles a day (40 up and 40 back) for my commute to class. I usually drive tired and with 500 things on my mind. I'm often stuck in traffic.

Problem? I've got about 25 grand burning a hole in my pocket, and I want a GTI. Only thing is, I kind of hate the idea of buying an Auto Trans (Even if it's DSG) on one. Does anyone here own one? Do they suck? Is it a waste to get a GTI with Auto? Will I hate myself?

I barely know how to drive manual, and I just don't know if I have the time to learn right now with all of the law work I have to do. I'm currently driving an old POS Chevy with automatic, and I've only ever driven Auto aside from the few times my brother let me drive his stick shift (back when he had one) when I was like 16.

What do you all think? Votes for either way? Did any of you learn on your GTI? I suspect learning on a car you care about is probably a bad idea...

-Sara

·
Registered
106 Posts
There are so many joys in driving this car, i can see it being an extremely rewarding experience regardless of your transmission type. Since you're regularly in traffic, the DSG seems like the perfect fit for you, not only do you get the car in it's fastest trim, but you also get the benefit of being able to put on your girlie makeup or whatever, while text messaging your girlfriends, and rocking out to your favorite tunes, all while zipping around the city.

I personally have a manual, but i have a company car that's auto for my commuting. The DSG is a win/win for you it sounds like.