Volkswagen GTI Forums - My Fast GTi banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings everyone. Just a brief background, I just obtained a new job after graduating from college a few months ago. I've been driving a '94 Jeep Grand Cherokee for several years now (just to get through school and all) and decided it was time to get something new(er). I test drove several vehicles and was about to purchase a brand new Civic when I drove by the local VW dealership in Madison, Tennessee. I couldn't afford a new GTI, but the MKIVs were always one of my favorite cars on the road. I asked if they had any used GTIs and he said no (pristine condition, used MKVIs are rare to find here). So, I was about to drive off and the salesman ran to my Jeep and said, "Wait, we just got one yesterday from a guy trading up for a new GTI." I test drove it - the first time I had ever driven a GTI. I pretty much decided then and there, aside from background checks and detailing, I was going to leave with it.

Sitting inside to where I can see my '05 Reflex Silver GTI, I can barely wipe the grin off my face. It's completely amazing. Now I can see (and feel) what the other posts and 'new buyer testimonies' are all about. Glad to be here.

I'm considering buying a new set of rims within the next year or so (once I can get well-started on my financing stuff...). I really, really like the MKVs with the 18" Huffs (especially the one somewhere on this site with the powder-coated black Huffs - absolutely amazing), but I'm not sure how they'd look on my MKIV. If this question/thought is somewhere else on the boards, my bad - I didn't see anyone else ask about the Huffs on an '05. Otherwise, I have also looked at some 18" BBS rims - they'd definitely be niiice. Any advice/opinions?