Volkswagen GTI Forums - My Fast GTi banner
1 - 20 of 4489 Posts

·
Registered
245 Posts
Re: INTRODUCTIONS - Say Howdy Here

My GTI would say howdy (its from cowboy country - alberta), but I'll say hi!

Reactions: merrilltom

·
Registered
2 Posts

Hey everyone,

Very impressed with the maturity on this site, hope it stays this way. I'm a BMW tech and shop owner, but my heart is all VW. I have owned many beetles and buses over the years, bought a new GTi VR6 in 95 and loved it. For the last several years I have driven a beautiful unrestored 1970 BMW 2500 sedan as my daily driver, but began to feel guilty about it and decided it should be a sunny day car. I went car shopping and tried to get excited about the BMW 330i ZHP but couldn't. On a whim I went and drove the GTi with the DSG and fell in love with it. If anyone has driven a BMW with the SMG trans, you would know what I mean when I say the DSG is light years ahead of BMW in this department. I am very happy with the car so far. I wouldn't mind better sounding speakers and fewer interior rattles, but overall it's a blast.

I'm sure my BMW customers will give me crap when they find out I bought a VW, but who cares, I have a grin on my face when I get to work.

·
Registered
16 Posts

I purchased my Fast 3 weeks ago tomorrow and I love it! It does have the rattle in the vent in center upper dash, I will get it fixed at the 5k oil change...gas mileage is not what I hoped it would be coming from a '91 BMW 325is, the gas mileage is about the same...but so much more fun to drive. I have had an '89 GTI 16V and an '82 Scirrocco...I loved both of those cars. I have posted a few times to others questions on here, I think this is a great forum and have found everyone to be friendly...look forward to more posts as we all get to know our Fast's....Later :p

·
Registered
99 Posts
INTRODUCTION from SoCal

Hi Everyone! Wanted to introduce myself.

Last night I finally got my GTI and I haven't stopped smiling yet! ;D