My Fast GTi banner

1 - 20 of 102 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
I wash mine by hand. Usually in the driveway with a garden hose, but I do have two indoor wash bays here at work where I'll do it when it is cold outside. I also have an automatic car wash at work, but I'd rather do it by hand.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Nobody touches my car but me! I was a professional detailer a few years ago so I know what it takes to get the job done right.

·
Registered
690 Posts
Same here. On both counts, actually...

I actually enjoy washing and detailing my own car (and occasionally, my girlfriend's '02 New Beetle as well). It a matter of pride. Plus I'm super-anal about other people touching my stuff.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Anyone who lives in the Clearwater/St. Pete/Tampa - Florida area can take their cars to my detail shop: www.ericsautosalon.com located in d'town Clearwater. Mention that I sent you (I'm Jared, co-owner) for 10% off to MyFastGTI members!! We cater to only the finest cars and use only the finest products. A clean car is a happy car..... and a F A S T one too! ;D

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
I do a better job than the carwashes cause they miss spots specially when your driving the spots dry up on the car i hate that

·
Registered
15 Posts
My Carwash (Brown Bear is Bellevue, WA) does an amazing job for an auto wash. They even have a wheel cleaner that shines up those cool red brake calipers! I think it looks as close to a hand wash as I've ever seen.

·
Registered
39 Posts
I wait for sundown or a cloudy day becaue the sun NEVER stops shining in Hawaii.
When the time is right, I'll do the standard, spray, wash, spray, dry. Then I usually use the left over soap-water and a rag and hand-wash my rims. I'll then apply wax (before it gets dark). After the waxing is done, I'll move onto other stuff like glass. I'll use Stoner's on my glass, inside and out, as well as on the mirrors. Then I'll move onto interior.