Volkswagen GTI Forums - My Fast GTi banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, so I'm new to this, but I just need to sincere advice for a down pipe on my gti mk4. I have an apr stg 1 chip on it, and an injen short ram intake. I heard the obx downpipe from ebay is a bang for your buck. Will it be worth getting that or should I wait until I have the money for a name brand such as apr downpipe? Keep in mind I'm in college so I'm ballin on a budget! Haha. Thanks!

·
Registered
23 Posts
If you're going to keep the cat, which I would, I like the idea of the Autotech unit. Compared to some of the other brands of DP that use a ceramic cat which are prone to failure, the OE cat is all metal and more durable. The Autotech DP is designed for you to have the OE cat welded on to their 2.5" DP.

·
I'm Watching You
15,550 Posts
what is the point of getting a bigger DP if you are going to restrict it with an OEM cat?

If you are on a budget then get ebay DP

but i will always think that the 42DD down pipe is better and has a great company backing up their product

·
Premium Member
12,563 Posts
what is the point of getting a bigger DP if you are going to restrict it with an OEM cat?

but i will always think that the 42DD down pipe is better and has a great company backing up their product
This

·
Registered
23 Posts
Just because it's OEM doesn't mean it doesn't flow. Although I haven't seen any data one way or the other. You still open it up by welding on the the new DP at a point along the taper of the cat that gets you a 2.5" opening.

And if it's value that you want, a metal cat is going to last longer than a ceramic.

·
Premium Member
12,563 Posts
Just because it's OEM doesn't mean it doesn't flow. Although I haven't seen any data one way or the other. You still open it up by welding on the the new DP at a point along the taper of the cat that gets you a 2.5" opening.