Volkswagen GTI Forums - My Fast GTi banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
952 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This DIY is courtesy of rhodesman:
(it is him talking, not me)

Hello everyone. Well I finally settled down after H2O and had some time to post this up.

A buddy of mine has an MK5 GTI and bought a bunch of bolt on's at H2O one of which was a CAI. He asked me to help him install it, and since I have little experience with the MK5 I jumped at the opportunity to work on it. So here is a play by play (the best I could manage) of how to install the Neuspeed CAI (minus the part that drops down into the fender, sorry but he wanted to wait till after winter to put that on!)

First of all, open hood look at engine, admire the FSI.... ooohhhhhh okay sorry had no pic for that, it's time to install stop admiring!

first off, you must unplug everything from that crazy overweight engine cover/air box.

Start by removing the silverish screws from the intake....
Here:

And here (sorry picture is upside down I was getting artsy):

Then you want to unclip the inlet pipe from the airbox by unclipping the hose on the front and back like this:

Now here comes the tricky part. As many of you know, the cover can be a little hard to get off. What you want to do (I found best) is to grab the box on the front left and the back left side like this:

And pull up! But don't do it hard and quick. You want to grab it and slowly pull using muscle to lift up. Don't worry, if done right, it will feel like it's not going anywhere then suddenly you will here a *pop* and the suction cups will let go. It does take a lot of force, but don't jerk it, just be steady and strong (kinda like in bed ) and it will *pop* tee hee hee.

Do the same to the other side like this:

And marvel at the mesh of plastic, metal and wires (don't mind the hand that's from crazy Pete, he's pointing to nothing!)

Here you can see the front two plugs that hold the stock intake on.

Here is one on the left front: