Volkswagen GTI Forums - My Fast GTi banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all! First I just wanted to say I'm a noob when it comes to GTIs. I just bought my MKV yesterday :x Please be gentle.

Haha anyhoo, I noticed I have a phone button on my steering wheel. the dealer told me the car doesn't have bluetooth installed, but that the dealer sells a kit (then he said under his breath that all I needed was to buy the module, its on ebay, and all it takes to install it is 4 screws). So I googled it, and I saw a tread here that showed the wiring harness and mic tutorial.

So I guess my question is: is there any truth to what the dealer said? I've been working overnights and haven had the chance to even look for this alleged 'socket under my seat' Any help would be appreciated. Thank You!

·
Registered
577 Posts
Take a look under the front passenger seat. That's where it is on the MK6 and I assume it's the same for the MK5. I can snap some pictures when I get off work if you'd like, but I bet there are some floating on google already.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i just looked an another thread and apparently the harness might be under the plastic cover under the passenger seat. ill check when I get out of work. do you know what version of bluetooth module I can use? am I going to have to re-code to accept the module?

·
Registered
577 Posts
yeah, it should be under that plastic cover(the MK6's got shafted and we have a dumb Styrofoam thing >.>). Mine came with Bluetooth and, unfortunately, I don't know which module you need.

·
Registered
385 Posts
Take a look under the front passenger seat. That's where it is on the MK6 and I assume it's the same for the MK5. I can snap some pictures when I get off work if you'd like, but I bet there are some floating on google already.
The stock mk6 head unit integrates the satellite radio function into the head unit,