Volkswagen GTI Forums - My Fast GTi banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i was wondering i got a 2003 vw gti 1.8t and i wanted to kno if i needed to get a bov kit for it. i kno itll help prolong the turbo's life, and i love the sound :). anyone kno if one comes stock, and if so can i change it to make the hiss sound?

if not can somone point me to a site were i could buy a decently priced one?

thanks again :D

·
Registered
36 Posts
I just recently bought an 04 GTI 1.8T, and I've been wondering the same thing. I'm not sure if it has one or not, but every now & then I can hear a very, VERY faint sound that leads me to believe there may be one on it.... but I really don't know much about it, I'm new to Vdubs & turbos, so any help would be appreciated!

·
Premium Member
4,311 Posts
Logixal said:
i was wondering i got a 2003 vw gti 1.8t and i wanted to kno if i needed to get a bov kit for it. i kno itll help prolong the turbo's life, and i love the sound :). anyone kno if one comes stock, and if so can i change it to make the hiss sound?

if not can somone point me to a site were i could buy a decently priced one?

thanks again :D
I think VW used diverter valves (not BOVs) in the 1.8T. If you go with an aftermarket BOV you run the risk of confusing the MAF and the ECU. Do a search on here for "diverter" and there are some good discussions on the differences.

·
Registered
1,629 Posts
i heard a neuspeed CAI on a 1.8T and it definitly makes the diverter valve make a nice sound. check it out. neuspeed.com

·
Registered
36 Posts
yeah the cold air intake sounds incredible, I actually just installed an AEM one yesterday on mine, and didn't hear much of a difference when I first cranked the car (I used to drive a honda, so that was the only time you really heard it!) & I was a little disappointed until I pulled outta the driveway & heard it. ;D

·
Registered
18 Posts