Volkswagen GTI Forums - My Fast GTi banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks - first post here so bear with me.

I am looking at upgrading my ECU to the 93 Octane program from APR. I'm new to the world of turbocharging, and since my car is leased, would like to know if I NEED to upgrade any other parts to get the performance figures that APR quotes. Any insight that any of you have is appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
473 Posts
ITGcixelsyD said:
Hi folks - first post here so bear with me.

I am looking at upgrading my ECU to the 93 Octane program from APR. I'm new to the world of turbocharging, and since my car is leased, would like to know if I NEED to upgrade any other parts to get the performance figures that APR quotes. Any insight that any of you have is appreciated. Thanks!
Welcome to MFG. I have the above mentioned flash. I currently only have a K&N filter replacement for OEM. I havent dyno'd yet but I will upgrade the intake to full CAI and see what it does. Not sure if you need to do much to the exhaust side. Maybe someone else can speak to that but I notice a difference in the mid-range power but plan to see the numbers jump in stages. Keep in touch and I'll let ya know.

·
Registered
6 Posts
All you need to do is get the 93 octane programming done. It makes a huge difference. You don't need to upgrade other parts to have lot's of fun. The torque will slam you back in the seat starting at about 2800 RPM's. By the time you read this, I think you will already have done the mod and know what I mean.

·
Registered
2,169 Posts
will the stock dv hold up to an apr stage i chipping?

·
Registered
181 Posts
what would there b to dislike?