Volkswagen GTI Forums - My Fast GTi banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just purchased an '07 GTI yesterday -- Black, package #2, 17" wheels, automatic. the "Service Manager" gave me a tremendously long pitch (accompanied by a glossy binder with pretty pictures) of all the aftermarket stuff I should "really consider" for my new vehicle -- e.g., undercoating, clearcoating, extended warranty, interior upholstery protection, etc. I didn't buy any of it because I wanted to get the straight scoop from real GTI owners. So, what say you all --- What kind of aftermarket stuff do I REALLY need on my new GTI? I live in the Baltimore MD/Washington DC area where the roads are salted and driving is always a challenge. I plan on washing the car at least every two weeks or more often if required. I'm not a mechanic and plan to take the car to the VW dealership for regular servicing. Do I need an extended warranty, clearcoating, undercoating, etc? Appreciate any recommendations. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
3,420 Posts
Yeah get the rubber floormats. Although my conditions aren't as bad as Thalo's, they catch all the mud and water in the little cups. Just hose them off and good as new! I've been thinking about getting the "body kit" through the dealer. I don't like big showy body kits, just something simple.

·
Premium Member
1,908 Posts
Haha, yeah, it's really bad.

My car looks even worse now than in the pictures I took last weekend before I washed it.

·
Registered
69 Posts
I got that extra coating to protect against bird poop and stuff. I don't know if it's worth it or not, but it sounded good. I also got extended warranty on the tires, it was a good deal and they are expensive to replace.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·