Volkswagen GTI Forums - My Fast GTi banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, a newbie here... I'm buying a new GTI tomorrow and am faced with a decision on audio. Any advice is really appreciated before I sign the dotted line.

Considerations are cost, theft avoidance, attractiveness, and features. Feature-wise, it would be nice to access my phone address book or ipod library from the head unit.

I thought of three options for audio. Maybe there are other options, too.

1. Go with the basic audio system offered on the GTI. As you already know, it has bluetooth, sat, and audio aux for connecting an mp3 player. Maybe it will be enough for me. Any comments on this unit?

2. Buy a car with option 1 audio, then possibly upgrade to an after-market system like the Pioneer AVH-P3300BT. I can get it bought and installed for about $650 locally. I am wondering if it will look good in the GTI, invite break-ins, and otherwise work well. Anyone using an after-market unit they really like or hate?

3. Go with the stock RCD 510 touch-screen radio. You can control a phone and ipod through an interface cable. Cool. But to get this radio, you have to buy the sunroof too, and the cost for both is $2000. I don't care about the sunroof, so it would be a big chunk of change for that radio. Any comments on this unit and how it compares to an after-market model?

Thanks for any guidance for this excited GTI buyer!!

Terry

·
Registered
256 Posts